CIC-Staff Pages

CIC Staff and Contact Information

Mr. Inui  Program Facilitator

jinui@lbschools.net   Rm132 x5196

 

Ms. Arredondo   Counselor

garredondo@lbschools.net   Rm117  x5125

 

Ms. Smith  Asst. Principal

trsmith@lbschools.net   Rm119 x5208

 

Mr. Adler AP Seminar/AP US Gov't and AP Comp Gov/ AP Micro and AP MacroEcon

dadler@lbschools.net  Rm 901  x5218 Conf Per 7

 

Mr. Beaulac Geography/Int'l Relations (Gr9)

cbeaulac@lbschools.net   Rm413 x5179 Conf Per 4,5


Mr. Cooperider English 1-2 Accel. (Gr9)

jcooperider@lbschools.net  Rm408 x5403   Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Dodson   AP World History/ModWldHist Accel (Gr10)

cdodson@lbschools.net   Rm506 x5411 Conf Per 8

 

Mr. Elvidge  Geometry Accel. (Gr9)

jelvidge@lbschools.net  Rm913 x5214 Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Fillipow  Intro to Lab Physical Sci Accel (Gr9)

mfillipow@lbschools.net   Rm259 x5467 Conf Per 5,6

 

Mrs. Scipio   Biology Accel (Gr10)

gcorverahernandez@lbschools.net   Rm 270  x5251  Conf Per 1,6

 

Ms. Hess  AP EngLang (Gr11)

shess@lbschools.net  Rm708 x5426 Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Kawai Physics 1-2 (Gr 11 and 12)

mkawai@lbschools.net    Rm701W x5184 Conf Per 4,7

 

Ms. Kawasaki   Japanese 3-4/5-6/7-8

kkawasaki@lbschools.net   Rm163 x5480 Conf Per 4,7

 

Ms. Mercado  Pre Cal Honors (Gr11)

cmercado@lbschools.net  Rm557    x5200     Conf Per 4,5

 

Mr. Nguyen  Algebra 2/Trig Accel./Algebra 2 (Gr10)

snguyen@lbschools.net  Rm606 x5421 Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Pilloff Physics 1-2 (Gr 9,11 and 12), AP EnvSci, AP Physics

dpilloff@lbschools.net    Rm701W x5184 Conf Per 5,8

 

Mr. Schwichtenberg  AP US Gov't/US Gov't Accel/Econ (Gr12)

sschwichtenberg@lbschools.net   Rm312 x5289 Conf Per 7,8

 

Mr. Shaheen  Chemistry 1-2/Honors Chemistry (Gr11)

ashaheen@lbschools.net     Rm253 x5465 Conf Per 5

 

Ms. Suojanen Japanese 1-2 (Gr9)

rsuojanen@lbschools.net   RmP-8     x5858   Conf Per 1,2

(room slated to change due to construction in late Oct)

 

Ms. Tram AP US History/US History Honors (Gr11)/AP Art History

ctram@lbschools.net    Rm407 x5176 Conf Per 8

 

Ms. Vitale    AP English Lit (Gr12)

jvitale@lbschools.net   Rm404 x5401 Conf Per 7

 

Ms. Watson  Japanese 3-4/5-6 Hon/AP Japanese

susanwatson@lbschools.net    Rm157 x5477 Conf Per 2,5

 

Dr. Zhu Chinese 1-2/3-4/5-6/7-8/AP Chinese

mzhu@lbschools.net    Rm215 x5266 Conf Per 7,8

 

Ms. Zobel English 3-4 Accel.

mzobel@lbschools.net  Rm204    x5271    Conf Per 5,8

 

Associates

Mr. Stevens  Marching Band/Jazz/AP Music Theory  Conf Per 2

cstevens@lbschools.net  RmP-9    x5450 Conf Per 4

(room slated to change due to construction in late Oct)

Notes

Nothing Posted

Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Trio and Environmental Summit Program 2017

The biannual Trio Exchange between Long Beach and her sister city, Yokkaichi, in Japan sent one male and one female student representative from Long Beach (in 2017, both were from LB Poly High School), in addition to one teacher/adult chaperone to Yokkaichi, Japan in 2017.


This coming year, in reverse, a teacher and two student representatives will be coming to Long Beach as representatives from Yokkaichi, Japan to Long Beach, CA, USA for approximately ten days.

 

Dates To Be Announced

 

Additionally, Long Beach also sent 3 students to the annual Environmental Summit in Yokkaichi, Japan that brings together students Tianjin, PRChina; Yokkaichi, Japan; and Long Beach, CA, USA for about 4-days this past summer.

 

CIC and PACE students will host Trio ambassadors this coming summer 2018, and we are currently looking for HOST families who would be interesting in hosting Japanese teenage students and/or teachers. As was done in past years, the 10-day visit CAN be split between Host Families. 

If you are interested in being a Trio representative for Summer 2019 OR in hosting a Japanese student, please contact jinui@lbschools.net or susanwatson@lbschools.net for more information.  This program is open to ANY student in the Japanese Language Program at LB Polytechnic High School and is NOT limited to CIC or PACE students.

 

Additionally, students from Long Beach will again be participating in the annual Environmental Summit program in Japan in 2018 in Yokkaichi, Japan, so we are looking for students with an interest in working with students from Yokkaichi, Japan and Tianjin, China on environmental topics.

Kakehashi Project Japan Exchange 2016

    In July 2016, Japanese teacher Susan Watson and US History teacher Christine Tram chaperoned a group of students Grades 9-12 to take part in the Kakehashi Project for national and cultural awareness of Japan.  Students traveled to various cities to learn about the country, its people, and its culture in order to learn how Japan is enduring and recovering from the devastating tsunami of 2012.  The tour lasted 10 days and included visits to government and private business offices to learn about the Japanese economy.  In February 2017, students came from Japan to learn a little about America.  At this time, host families volunteered to host approximately 23 students and two adults. This opportunity is NOT sponsored by the LBUSD or Poly and is available only to students in the Japanese program. 

 

Though currently not scheduled for 2017-18, students interested in hosting AND in attending similar opportunities, please let Mr. Inui know at jinui@lbschools.net or Susan Watson at susanwatson@lbschools.net.