Skip to main content
Poly Calendar
Month
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
Month
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Japanese Visitors to LB Poly December 2018

PGT education Inc. representative Akemi Akahira is once again coordinating a one-day visit by Japanese high school students to Long Beach Poly HS this December 11, 2018 (Tuesday).  This visit is once again a product of the letter exchange that Ms. Kawasaki has carried out in her class for the past few years.

If you are interested in hosting a Japanese student for a day, please let your Japanese teacher know as soon as possible.  Priority for placement will begin with Ms. Kawasaki's class as she is coordinating this visit.

All 30-35 visiting students will be girl students (the school is an all-girls academy), so we will also give priority to female hosts.


CIC-Staff Pages

CIC Staff and Contact Information

Mr. Inui 
Program Facilitator
jinui@lbschools.net  
Rm 520  x5417 (room change) 
hopefully extension reverts to Rm 132 x5196 at some point

Ms. Arredondo   
Counselor
garredondo@lbschools.net  
Rm 117  x5125

Ms. Cargile
Asst. Principal
lcargile@lbschools.net  
Rm 119  x5208

Mr. Adler
AP Seminar/AP Micro and AP MacroEcon/Personal Corporate Finance
dadler@lbschools.net  
Rm 901  x5218
Conf Per 2, 7

Mr. Beaulac
Geography/Int'l Relations (Gr9)
cbeaulac@lbschools.net  
Rm 413  x5179
Conf Per 5, 6

Mr. Cooperider
English 1-2 Accel. (Gr9)/AP English Literature (Gr12)
jcooperider@lbschools.net 
Rm 408  x5403  
Conf Per 7, 8

Mr. Dodson  
AP World History/ModWldHist Accel (Gr10)
cdodson@lbschools.net  
Rm 506  x5411
Conf Per 7, 8

Mr. Elvidge 
Geometry Accel. (Gr9)
jelvidge@lbschools.net 
Rm 913  x5214
Conf Per 1,2

Mr. Fillipow 
Intro to Lab Physical Sci Accel (Gr9)
mfillipow@lbschools.net  
Rm 259  x5467
Conf Per 5,6

Ms. Hess  
AP EngLang (Gr11)
shess@lbschools.net 
Rm 708  x5426
Conf Per 1, 8

Ms. Kawasaki  
Japanese 3-4/5-6/7-8
kkawasaki@lbschools.net  
Rm 163  x5480
Conf Per 1, 4

Ms. Larsen
English 1-2 Accel. (Gr9)/AP English Literature (Gr12)
glarsen@lbschools.net 
Rm 408  x5403  
Conf Per 1,2

Ms. Mercado 
Pre Cal Honors (Gr11)
cmercado@lbschools.net 
Rm 128  x5499     
Conf Per 4,5

Ms. Montooth   
Biology Accel (Gr10)
amontooth@lbschools.net     
Rm 268  x5474 
Conf Per 1, 8

Mr. Nguyen 
Algebra 2/Trig Accel./Algebra 2 (Gr10)
snguyen@lbschools.net 
Rm 606  x5421
Conf Per 1,2

Mr. Schwichtenberg  
AP US Gov't/US Gov't/Econ (Gr12)
sschwichtenberg@lbschools.net  
Rm 312  x5289           
Conf Per 1,8

Mr. Shaheen 
Chemistry 1-2/Honors Chemistry (Gr11)
ashaheen@lbschools.net     
Rm 253  x5465       
Conf Per 5

Ms. Suojanen
Japanese 1-2 (Gr9)
rsuojanen@lbschools.net  
Rm 118  x5493  
Conf Per 1,2

Ms. Tram
AP US History/US History Honors (Gr11)/AP Art History
ctram@lbschools.net   
Rm 407  x5176
Conf Per 1, 8   
(LT Sub: Mr. Karres skarres@lbschools.net effective Sep 20, 2018)

Mr. Van     
Physics 1-2 (Gr 9)/AP Computer Science/AP Physics
tavan@lbschools.net    
Rm 267  x5462     
Conf Per 1, 2

Ms. Watson 
Japanese 3-4/5-6 Hon/AP Japanese
susanwatson@lbschools.net   
Rm 157  x5477     
Conf Per 6, 7

Dr. Zhu
Chinese 1-2/3-4/5-6/7-8/AP Chinese
mzhu@lbschools.net   
Rm 215  x5266     
Conf Per 7,8

Ms. Zobel
English 3-4 Accel. 
mzobel@lbschools.net
Rm 204  x5271    
Conf Per 2, 5

ASSOCIATES

Mr. Stevens 
Marching Band/Jazz/AP Music Theory 
cstevens@lbschools.net       
Bandroom/Rm 25  x5129 
Conf Per 2

Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Trio and Environmental Summit Program 2019

The biannual Trio Exchange between Long Beach and her sister city, Yokkaichi, in Japan brought a teacher and two student representatives to Long Beach as representatives from Yokkaichi, Japan to Long Beach, CA, USA for approximately ten days

This coming year, in reverse, the Committee will send one male and one female student representative from Long Beach (in 2017, both were from LB Poly High School), in addition to one teacher/adult chaperone to Yokkaichi, Japan in July 2019 for approximately ten days.

Please monitor post on CIC OPPORTUNITIES page for latest updates

Additionally, Long Beach also sent 3 students to the annual Environmental Summit in Yokkaichi, Japan that brings together students Tianjin, PRChina; Yokkaichi, Japan; and Long Beach, CA, USA for about 4-days this past summer.  This coming year, the Committee will send another group of students again.

As soon as dates are available, I will post them on the CIC Opportunities page

If you are interested in being a Trio representative for Summer 2019 OR in hosting a Japanese student the following year in Summer 2020, please contact jinui@lbschools.net or susanwatson@lbschools.net for more information.  This program is open to all students in LBUSD or in organizations with a Long Beach affiliation.  We highly encourage ANY student in the Japanese Language Program at LB Polytechnic High School to participate.  The offer is NOT limited to CIC or PACE students.

Additionally, students from Long Beach will again be participating in the annual Environmental Summit program in Japan in 2018 in Yokkaichi, Japan, so we are looking for students with an interest in working with students from Yokkaichi, Japan and Tianjin, China on environmental topics.