Skip to main content
Poly Calendar
Month
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
Month
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Japanese Visitors to LB Poly December 2018

PGT education Inc. representative Akemi Akahira is once again coordinating a one-day visit by Japanese high school students to Long Beach Poly HS this December 11, 2018 (Tuesday).  This visit is once again a product of the letter exchange that Ms. Kawasaki has carried out in her class for the past few years.

 

If you are interested in hosting a Japanese student for a day, please let your Japanese teacher know as soon as possible.  Priority for placement will begin with Ms. Kawasaki's class as she is coordinating this visit.

 

All 30-35 visiting students will be girl students (the school is an all-girls academy), so we will also give priority to female hosts.

CIC-Staff Pages

CIC Staff and Contact Information

Mr. Inui  Program Facilitator

jinui@lbschools.net   Rm520 x5417 (room change) hopefully extension reverts to Rm 132 x5196 at some point

 

Ms. Arredondo   Counselor

garredondo@lbschools.net   Rm117  x5125

 

Ms. Cargile Asst. Principal

lcargile@lbschools.net   Rm119 x5208

 

Mr. Adler AP Seminar/AP Micro and AP MacroEcon/Personal Corporate Finance

dadler@lbschools.net  Rm 901  x5218 Conf Per 2, 7

 

Mr. Beaulac Geography/Int'l Relations (Gr9)

cbeaulac@lbschools.net   Rm413 x5179 Conf Per 5, 6


Mr. Cooperider English 1-2 Accel. (Gr9)/AP English Literature (Gr12)

jcooperider@lbschools.net  Rm408 x5403   Conf Per 7, 8


Mr. Dodson   AP World History/ModWldHist Accel (Gr10)

cdodson@lbschools.net   Rm506 x5411 Conf Per 7, 8

 

Mr. Elvidge  Geometry Accel. (Gr9)

jelvidge@lbschools.net  Rm913 x5214 Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Fillipow  Intro to Lab Physical Sci Accel (Gr9)

mfillipow@lbschools.net   Rm259 x5467 Conf Per 5,6


Ms. Hess  AP EngLang (Gr11)

shess@lbschools.net  Rm708 x5426 Conf Per 1, 8


Ms. Kawasaki   Japanese 3-4/5-6/7-8

kkawasaki@lbschools.net   Rm163 x5480 Conf Per 1, 4

 

Ms. Larsen English 1-2 Accel. (Gr9)/AP English Literature (Gr12)

glarsen@lbschools.net  Rm408 x5403   Conf Per 1,2

 

Ms. Mercado  Pre Cal Honors (Gr11)

cmercado@lbschools.net  Rm128     x5499     Conf Per 4,5

 

Ms. Montooth   Biology Accel (Gr10)

amontooth@lbschools.net      Rm 268    x5474  Conf Per 1, 8

 

Mr. Nguyen  Algebra 2/Trig Accel./Algebra 2 (Gr10)

snguyen@lbschools.net  Rm606 x5421 Conf Per 1,2

 

Mr. Schwichtenberg  AP US Gov't/US Gov't/Econ (Gr12)

sschwichtenberg@lbschools.net   Rm312    x5289            Conf Per 1,8

 

Mr. Shaheen  Chemistry 1-2/Honors Chemistry (Gr11)

ashaheen@lbschools.net     Rm253 x5465        Conf Per 5

 

Ms. Suojanen Japanese 1-2 (Gr9)

rsuojanen@lbschools.net   Rm118     x5493   Conf Per 1,2

 

Ms. Tram AP US History/US History Honors (Gr11)/AP Art History

ctram@lbschools.net    Rm407 x5176 Conf Per 1, 8   (LT Sub: Mr. Karres skarres@lbschools.net effective Sep 20, 2018)

 

Mr. Van      Physics 1-2 (Gr 9)/AP Computer Science/AP Physics

tavan@lbschools.net    Rm267     x5462      Conf Per 1, 2

 

Ms. Watson  Japanese 3-4/5-6 Hon/AP Japanese

susanwatson@lbschools.net    Rm157 x5477      Conf Per 6, 7

 

Dr. Zhu Chinese 1-2/3-4/5-6/7-8/AP Chinese

mzhu@lbschools.net    Rm215 x5266     Conf Per 7,8

 

Ms. Zobel English 3-4 Accel. 

mzobel@lbschools.net  Rm204    x5271    Conf Per 2, 5

 

Associates

Mr. Stevens  Marching Band/Jazz/AP Music Theory  Conf Per 2

cstevens@lbschools.net       Bandroom/Rm25   x5129 

Notes
Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Trio and Environmental Summit Program 2019

The biannual Trio Exchange between Long Beach and her sister city, Yokkaichi, in Japan brought a teacher and two student representatives to Long Beach as representatives from Yokkaichi, Japan to Long Beach, CA, USA for approximately ten days

This coming year, in reverse, the Committee will send one male and one female student representative from Long Beach (in 2017, both were from LB Poly High School), in addition to one teacher/adult chaperone to Yokkaichi, Japan in July 2019 for approximately ten days.

Please monitor post on CIC OPPORTUNITIES page for latest updates

Additionally, Long Beach also sent 3 students to the annual Environmental Summit in Yokkaichi, Japan that brings together students Tianjin, PRChina; Yokkaichi, Japan; and Long Beach, CA, USA for about 4-days this past summer.  This coming year, the Committee will send another group of students again.

As soon as dates are available, I will post them on the CIC Opportunities page

If you are interested in being a Trio representative for Summer 2019 OR in hosting a Japanese student the following year in Summer 2020, please contact jinui@lbschools.net or susanwatson@lbschools.net for more information.  This program is open to all students in LBUSD or in organizations with a Long Beach affiliation.  We highly encourage ANY student in the Japanese Language Program at LB Polytechnic High School to participate.  The offer is NOT limited to CIC or PACE students.

Additionally, students from Long Beach will again be participating in the annual Environmental Summit program in Japan in 2018 in Yokkaichi, Japan, so we are looking for students with an interest in working with students from Yokkaichi, Japan and Tianjin, China on environmental topics.